• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

178gr eld load

GoDawgsGo

Default rank <2000 posts Supporter
ODT Junkie!
178   0
Reaction score
Ok let me start off by saying I'm very new to reloading 308.

I've been trying to figure out a good load for 178gr eld match bullet. I loaded up several loads and decided to go with 43gr of varget in lake city brass with 2.85 oal. The average speed was 2616 with a sd of 10.

Today was the first time I got to shoot this load for accuracy it was at 100 yards. I shot inside and had the rifle in a sled. The group was not great at all maybe half dollar size at best.

My rifle is a Remington 700 sps 1/10 in a McMillan stock vortex glass and aac sdn suppressor.

My question is what should i try to get this load to shoot better? Or is this not a good load for my rifle? I'm by no means a great precision shooter but I would have thought this load would have done pretty well in a sled.

Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Pic of rifle . IMG_2924.JPG

I would consider working up towards 45grains Varget, and perhaps, beyond. Particularly if you are loading the bullet with a long COAL to get the bullet up near the rifle grooves.

However, If you are feeling less secure in terms of safety with your own loads than you do with factory ammo, I would shoot a few more of your current load until you are certain that you are relaxed. I had a hard time focusing on my shooting when I started reloading.