• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

30 cal silencer reccomendations??

bassmaster44

Default rank <1500 posts
ODT Junkie!
30   0
Reaction score
I am new to the can world so I will apologize in advance. My understanding is that I can run a 30 caliber can on all of the following, but still doing my research:

2 AR's in 556
AR pistol in 556
308 hunting rifle
280 Ackley improved hunting rifle
6.5 creedmoor hunting rifle

All have muzzle breaks but all are threaded. I want to focus the best shooting but quietest. I know you guys will have recommendations on the best can. If I can actually use the same silencer on all of these guns, I am not overly concerned about the cost.

Do you guys mind sharing your opinions?

SIG SRD762TI-QD
I too have a Sig SRD 762 QD and it’s a work horse. I’m very pleased. I havent heard it on 6.5 nor 280. I use it on an 8.5” .300blk, and 10.5” 5.56. It has a nice deep tone to it.

Full auto rated
Can handle SBR length bbls
.300 WIN MAG and down
QD taper
Kinda looks weird but I got over it fast

35CCAE7E-F34C-4B9F-AB50-29BD21D6FBD9.jpeg

Silencerco Omega 300 is what I would get if I were to get one. My neighbor got one and it is light and very quiet. Both direct thread or quick mount is standard. Would serve you well,

I forget the model of the one I'm thinking of, but it was built by Liberty Suppressors in Trenton Georgia (up in the north west corner of the state.)
They have a firearms and silencer demo shoot every year. I went once. The suppressor I'm thinking of was attached to a 308 bolt action rifle but it's rated for up to 300 WinMag. You can use it on a .300 Blackout or 6.8 SPC or any lesser caliber, but the silencer is longer and heavier than you need for those applications.

Shooting full power 150 grain 308 ammo (2700 f.p.s.) sounded like shooting an unsuppressed 22 rifle.

This suppressor had several baffles in it, and I think its overall length is about 9 inches.