• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

30 caliber suppressor newbie questions

sambo77

Default rank 5000+ posts Supporter
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
141   0
Reaction score
So I have no suppressor experience or much knowledge other than renting a suppressed glock 17 at my local range, but I'm wanting to but my first can within the next few months. I'm going to get a 30 caliber can mostly used on my hunting rifle, and eventually a 300 blackout pistol when I get the build finished. Here are my questions, I know it's not going to suppress well but how well would .30-06 suppress? Second question is while browsing Quiet Riot Firearms Quiet Riot Firearms website I came across a fairly inexpensive can called a doomsday 7.62 by huntertown arms/silencer inc. All the reviews that I've read are mixed and was wanting to see how it stacked up compared to other cans, another one I was looking at was the
Masterpiece Arms MPA308S 7.62mm . Thanks in advance for any insight from y'all that know your stuff when it comes to suppressors.

Dumb question but since I'll be using it on a .30-06 what rating would I need to look for atleast to a .300 win mag rating?

Hell I just confused myself because 308 has a higher peak SAMMI pressure than 30-06 but 7.62 nato is lower pressure. If you get one rated to 300rum it'll do anything .30cal and 300wm will handle that and below with ease. But if you get something like the ARC30 I would ask Dobbs himself before buying it just to CYA