• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Another beginner

richs

Default rank <5000 posts
ODT Junkie!
40   0
Reaction score
Yesterday I acquired a a box of reloading tools for a very low price. I got a Lyman All American Turret Press with dies for .38 and .45 rounds, scale, powder feeder, 1000 small pistol and 1000 large pistol primers and a 'training book' with different powder measurements based on the round weight and caliber. Right now I'm only shooting 9MM, .40 S&W and .223 rifle. I'm planning on reloading the 9MM and the .223, but I have never done this before. I could use advice and guidance.
  • I know I need to purchase the dies for 9MM and .223, should I hold on to the dies I have or sell them?
  • Do I need to invest in a "trimmer" and a tumbler?
  • Can either of the primers work in .223?
  • Can other shell holders work in this press, or do I need to hunt one from Lyman?
  • What powder is best to use to start with, and can I use the same powder for both pistol and rifle?

I would hold on to the dies, you never know...
Personally, I like clean brass. It improves die life, aids inspection and just looks spiffy!
Eventually you will have to trim and it is nice to have uniform dimensions when seating bullets and getting consistency.
The shellholders should be universal, i.e. Lee, Hornady and RCBS work in my Lyman turret press.
For 9mm, Titegroup, Unique and Autocomp are great powders. Others will have their personal favorites.
I don't load .223 anymore, but have had good luck with Varget.

what is the "training book" and did you read it? I'm guessing not since it should have answered most of your questions.. ;) but here's some of my houghts: