• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Any folks out there threading a shotgun barrel?

jpender

Default rank <50 posts
Outdoorsman
8   0
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a real novice on the shotgun side of the house, so any input is welcome. I'm working on a basement cheap backpack gun build for squirrels and other small game. I picked up a single shot 20 gauge a while ago, and had the barrel cut down to 18". I'm going to do some woodwork on the stock to get her to fold nearly completely in half, but I'd like to be able to use a screw-in choke. Is there anyone that could cut threads on the inside of the barrel to accomodate a choke in middle/North Georgia?

Thanks in advance for your help,
J

Got to be careful on this... a lot of older guns may not have the wall thickness needed to remove material for a choke. You definitely want a gunsmith who knows what's safe or not.

8D4292F2-9EF4-4A48-8702-16353FF7769B.jpeg
I think the cost is prohibitive, around $100 for the threading to use choke tubes.
I wouldn't do that to a cheap knockabout utility shotgun.

But, you might consider a youth model shotgun with a 21" or 22" barrel factory-threaded to use choke tube sets.

I just bought one such gun, a Chinese-made Stevens / Savage 320 in 20 ga, for only $150. At WalMart.

And the barrel is easy to take off if I wanted to stick it in a backpack to walk into town discreetly with only a few inches of the barrel protruding from the top of a small backpack.

When you're walking around the woods, gun assembled and ready for use, a 22 inch barrel is not too long. Especially on established trails.

Got to be careful on this... a lot of older guns may not have the wall thickness needed to remove material for a choke. You definitely want a gunsmith who knows what's safe or not.