• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Atlanta homeowner charged with murder after allegedly shooting stranger found sleeping inside home

Just as a clarifier, I'm not a lawyer, or an actor, so I don't even play a lawyer on TV, but to repeat what I noted earlier, GA residents don't even have the right to conduct a citizen's arrest now.

If you can't detain someone who is robbing your home or who was threatening you but then backed down from the attack and is no longer a credible threat, you KNOW that you're in a state that will definitely consider prosecuting you for discharging a firearm at a 'nonviolent' trespasser in your own home.

And if they'll do that, there's a good chance that unless you can absolutely defend your decision to shoot, you WILL end up being prosecuted.
A choice that we would have to make in a split second will be judged by others after the fact and under zero stress. We better train to make the right one.

when it comes to protecting my family or home! If the stupid s.o.b stayed out of the house we wouldn't be having this debate. I'm with the homeowner 100% on this one. If a stranger is in my house uninvited, call the cororner.
there was no one‘s family there, it was a vacant house.

homeowner could’ve just as easily backed away and called the law, he chose to enter room to room with a gun in his hand.(when/who called 911?.. did the homeowner call and report someone in this house?
Or was it after the shooting someone else called it in.?
APD investigators are determining from their statements, the man was “shot fleeing the house“ .

I predict this will not turn out well for Mr. (vacant) homeowner.

Following the recent change in GA law (HB 479) that makes citizen's arrests illegal,
I think this law will play a part in the prosecution. it’s possible that he would not have had any right to attempt to detain apprehend or hold anyone at gunpoint in a vacant house.. whether he owned it or not.