• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Best bang for the buck red dot? under 100 dollars

DownSouthMach

Default rank <2000 posts
ODT Junkie!
77   0
Reaction score
Looking for advice on a budget red dot. I have no experience with them and trying to pick one out is quite frustrating. It will be going on a sig 522 for some plinking fun.

Thanks for your help

If you are just looking for target acquisition I have had good luck with Truglo and NcSTAR. You should be able to get a good NcSTAR for under $100 and a Truglo for well under. I have used both on ARs.

Looking for advice on a budget red dot. I have no experience with them and trying to pick one out is quite frustrating. It will be going on a sig 522 for some plinking fun.

Thanks for your help

I went through the same process you are going through ... I have deep empathy for your frustrations!
Bottom line: If you buy anything other than an EOTECH or AIMPOINT you are going to be disappointed.

I tried thwe Vortex offerings and was really, really disappointed ... had to return them, got my money back but had to eat the shipping costs.

That said, I bought a UTG Reflex that cost me about $50 ... and it works fine for non-combat, non-hunting situations
on both my AR-15 and Saiga .223. Probably would work in hunting situations though.

Good luck and let us know what you find ... Good, Bad, and Ugly ... As this will add to the knowledge base!

Thanks for all the suggestions

I'm actually looking at this one pretty hard, 89 shipped at opticsplanet. Mostly good reviews and the few bad are comparing them to a much higher price point

I bet they are nice but cost more than my rifle, Kinda like putting 5000 dollar wheels on a 2000 dollar car. :D
I went through the same process you are going through ... I have deep empathy for your frustrations!
Bottom line: If you buy anything other than an EOTECH or AIMPOINT you are going to be disappointed.