• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

case bulge on .45acp

Eglock86

Default rank <4500 posts
ODT Junkie!
49   0
Reaction score
So I'm pretty new to reloading and am currently only loading .45 but moving to other calibers in the next few weeks. Anyway I'm using a lee classic turret press w a 4 die set. I'm getting a slight bulge on one side of the case iv done some research and iv tried seating it a little and turning it before finishing the seat. Iv watched very close and my bullets are being set straight. II'm using hornady XTP.451 230GR. And winchester RN FMJ .451 230gr.
Any help would be great
thanks

Before depriming or after bullet seating?

Before depriming excess pressure or lack of case support. After bullet seating the bullet is cocked and not straight.

Insure your resizing die is seated properly. It should be adjusted with the die kissing the case holder at full stroke of the lever then back it off a tad for full length resizing.

Clear pictures would be awesome.

Last edited:
I agree with Ram!
is this fired brass from a Glock??
the 45 acp is a fairly low pressure round and a bulge would be unusual in my experience.
on one side??
sounds like a unsupported case.

Thanks, I will get some good pics when I get home tonight, the case looks fine until the bullet is seated.
Before depriming or after bullet seating?

Before depriming excess pressure or lack of case support. After bullet seating the bullet is cocked and not straight.

Insure your resizing die is seated properly. It should be adjusted with the die kissing the case holder at full stroke of the lever then back it off a tad for full length resizing.

Clear pictures would be awesome.

Yea Eric I'd like to see a picture too!
I've never had this happen with the same equipment on the same caliber, so I'm really interested....

I'm thinking, if there's nothing in the seating die causing it to push at an angle, maybe you just have a bad die.