• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Case prep stations

Freshly Minted Georgian!

Default rank 5000+ posts Supporter
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
302   0
Reaction score
I'm considering a case prep station and looking for feedback. I've just started researching and am looking at the Frankford Armory trim station, and the Lyman prep station. I've been using a Lyman rotary trim station for 30+ years. Also use a Lyman manual prep tool with screw in bits. I like the thought of motorized trimming which the Lyman station doesn't do, but the Lyman appears to be a bit better with crimped primer pockets. Practical advice appreciated gents.

Nothing worse than trying to prep a big batch "talking thousands" of rifle brass, maybe the reason I don't load 223 anymore, by the time you factor in the time it's not worth the effort.

Having said that, the best trimmer out there is the Giraud, pricey but you wont have to chamfer the case mouths since it is all done in one step. A close second is the Dillon RT1500, again pricey, but has the advantage of using your press as leverage instead of your fingers for pressure into the cutter when trimming brass. I use the Dillon, it helps with the arthritis in my hands.

As for crimped primer pockets, swage it using a Dillon primer pocket swage or what I do "cheap way" get a 30 degree sheetmetal chamfer bit, chuck it in a drill and ream them out, the chamfer also makes seating primers a lot easier.