• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

CERAKOTE QUESTION!!!

JAT

Default rank <4500 posts Supporter
ODT Junkie!
64   0
Reaction score
I work as a painter in a bodyshop, how does cerakote hold up to lower baking temperatures/no bake. Ive seen it says to bake immediately. Will a 120 degree bake cycle be enough to get it home and then maybe put it in the oven? Thanks! Drop pics below of some home ceracote along with any tips or tricks!

Cerakote needs to flash for 10-15min at 175° to a tack-free state before it can be safely handled without messing it up...120° "might" work but i wouldnt expect good results from it...cerakote is almost deadnuts on their recommendatuons for flash and cure temps...i wouldnt suggest deviating if you want a qualiy result

Cerakote needs to flash for 10-15min at 175° to a tack-free state before it can be safely handled without messing it up...120° "might" work but i wouldnt expect good results from it...cerakote is almost deadnuts on their recommendatuons for flash and cure temps...i wouldnt suggest deviating if you want a qualiy result
This^

I do cerakote by the book, I follow their recommendations and it works for me. Can't tell you what will happen if you do things outside of their recommended curing schedule. My guess would be it's not gonna be optimal.

I’ve heard that cerakote can cure at low temps, but the time to cure is much much longer.
There's several different series of cerakote for several different types of applications. From firearms to exhaust pipes to motorcycles.

On firearms we use H-series and Elite series.
On suppressors we use C-series.

H-series can be cured at 175 for two hours. That's what we do with pretty much all non metal parts. But 250° is optimal. The only reason we don't do 250° is when we don't have want to damage or warp the part.
Elite series is pretty much always 300° for an hour.