• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

CJ5 Brake HELP!!!!!

hjblwme

Default rank <2000 posts
ODT Junkie!
13   0
Reaction score
I have a 1973 CJ5. Power NOTHING, hydraulic four wheel DRUM brakes.

A few months ago I noticed that my brakes got spongy. Checked everything and appeared fine. A week later the brakes went spongy again and decided it was probably the master cylinder so I replaced it. Bench bled new master and installed. Bled entire system until I got clean fluid and no air and good pedal feel. Next morning I went to get in and drive and the pedal was spongy. Tried bleeding again and got good brakes. Again tried to drive the next day and spongy.

Decided that maybe I got a bad master cylinder so I swapped it again. When I opened it this time I noticed the fluid was black and dirty. I also figured I would do the wheel cylinders at this time. Bleed everything and get a good pedal feel. Next morning, yup you guessed it, nothing but a sponge.

Check everywhere for leaks and see one wheel cylinder is leaking and replace that again. Bleed the system again and still nothing.

I have tried bleeding with the lil woman until her leg cramps and no air, I have tried using a vacuum pump and get no air, and still no brakes. I have tried using a pressure bottle and get no air out and still can not get a good pedal.

There is no ABS, proportioning valve or anything. The lines come from the master cylinder and run down to the frame and then to each axle to a T-block to each wheel.

HELP?!?!?!?!?!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If your hard lines are good (no pin holes, often at crimped/crushed areas) but you still have rubber lines to the drums, for around $50 to $60 per set (front, rear), might be a good time to upgrade to braided stainless.