• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Cross Bows, who has, and can recommend?

erkinator

Default rank <4500 posts Supporter
Smiling Handyman
120   0
Reaction score
I am ready to get back into archery. Saw a mini cross bow and with my bad shoulders I thought it would be the best way to go. Looking for model recommendations.

specs looking for, 400 FPS, $3 to 400.00 range, reliable,compact. Was looking at the Killer Instinct 405

thanks for any input

Barnett makes great crossbows for that price range. That’s probably the only brand I’d trust in the 3-400 ballpark. I think there is Barnett Jackal on here somewhere for like $100 if it hasn’t already sold.

I've been shooting now for about 8 years. I just purchased a Killer Instinct 415 to replace my Barnett. Shoots great, well built, no complaints so far. Thought I was going to fall down the rabbit hole of buying more, and more expensive bows. Never really saw the need. At 40 yards I regularly can get 3 arrows to touch each other. I get a little shaky past that. Bows are heavy.

which model?
The new one I have now is the bulldog 400. I picked it up on Amazon clearanced out for like $850. It blows through deer. With that speed I'm more than confident in 50 yard shots. My last model was an old Exocet. I've probably taken around 60 deer with it. The best part about the Excal's is you can change the string yourself.

The new one I have now is the bulldog 400. I picked it up on Amazon clearanced out for like $850. It blows through deer. With that speed I'm more than confident in 50 yard shots. My last model was an old Exocet. I've probably taken around 60 deer with it. The best part about the Excal's is you can change the string yourself.
Man I miss my old.
Model Exocet….perfect Excalibur in every way.
Dropped it from trees at 30’ and shot a deer ten min later right on the money.
Ran it over with a truck in the dark accidentally and killed it.