• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

First AR build recommendations

topchef

Default rank <5 posts
New to The Trader!
1   0
Reaction score
New to the forum and new to the world of AR’s. I’ve been a bolt action guy since I was a kid and recently have caught the bug to build an AR. I’m looking for opinions on a solid first build. I’m not sure that I’m ready to sink 4-5k into one yet but I’m open to hearing what y’all have to say. I’m also a newbie to the acronyms so use kid gloves with me.

Build yourself an Anderson or an entry level PAlmetto State as cheap as you can. make mistakes and scratch it up. Take your time and only buy parts used or when they are on sale. buy the right tools as you go. don’t shoot it off in the kitchen by mistake cuz you’ll blow out your ears. And be careful black rifle fever can be worse for a feller than falling in love.

The at the very least I would start with Aero Precision recievers, they make a decent bolt carrier group. Depending on how accurate you want to shoot you can research barrels but Ballistic Advantage is a sister company to Aero Precision. Both companies make excellent parts for a reliable and strong base. Pic out a good hand guard and a lower parts kit. Spikes makes s good adjustable stock kit. Just order their premium kit. You can get as fancy as you want on the stock and hand guard but those two items can get out of hand very quickly if not careful. Replace the trigger with a good one. A drop in on can be a good choice. You won't have to buy a full lower parts kit. You can get what they call a builders lower parts kit that doesn't have the fire control group in it.