• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Fitting a "hard fit" match grade 1911 barrel.

markj

Default rank <1000 posts
Frontiersman
95   0
Reaction score
When I started shooting NRA "Bullseye" ( now called "NRA Precision Pistol") a couple of years ago, my interest in 1911 Gunsmithing shifted primarily to accuracy. I still enjoy building custom guns, but Ive spent a lot of time reading and discussing barrel installation and have put countless rounds down range from a Ransom rest, fitting and re-fitting barrels, welding and machining frame rails, all in the quest for accuracy from a handgun.

I Thought I would share some pics of the tools and techniques I use. Everyone does it differently, this is only my process, and it is subject to change any moment, but I know there are some other ODT tinkerers who fit their own barrels and might enjoy seeing how someone else does it. I posted some of these pics in another forum as a review of the Weigand fixture, but I thought I would just do a overview of the process here.

I use Kart barrels and EGW bushings. EGW also makes some great tools, Like the hood length gauge. Without the EGW tool, its difficult to accurately measure the slide for the needed hood length of the barrel, EGW makes it easy.

i1153.photobucket.com_albums_p509_flying4food_hood6_zpsttutbjgs.jpg

Next step is measure the opening in the slide for the hood at the breach face. I use calipers then verify with gauge pins.

i1153.photobucket.com_albums_p509_flying4food_hood5_zpshsovyqts.jpg

Once Ive got the slide and barrel measurements, I figure out how much metal to remove from either side of the hood to make sure it fits perfectly in the slide and stays centered in the frame. I shim the lower lugs centered in the frame and use the Z axis display on the Mill to take this measurement. This one is critical, and the mill will measure to .0002"

i1153.photobucket.com_albums_p509_flying4food_hood1_zpskaa3az6z.jpg