• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Form 1 Suppressor

Can a can be to big?

• It's like money, beer and horsepower. Some is good, more is better and too much is never enough

Votes: 1 25.0%
  • Don't waste time, buy a bowers

• It will never be "TV" quiet so just wear ear plugs and have fun

• Soft shells are suppressors in the taco world

• Total voters

Shads

Default rank <2000 posts Supporter
Slack-jawwed Booger-eatin Redneck
64   0
Reaction score
Getting ready for a Form 1 but my question is, can a suppressor be too big? If weight and size isn't an issue, is bigger better? Or will it have adverse affects? Being my first can, it will be for a .458 Socom AR-15 so I can shoot all my smaller calibers through it. I hear they are tough to suppress is why I ask. Thanks in advance

Length > Diameter regardless if its Form 1 or not.

I have zero experience suppressing .458 SOCOM. It's not anything we ever made silencers for nor even metered with. Bore diameter also greatly affects the can's performance. It's probably gonna be real mediocre with .223 or even 9mm depending on your lowers and what you want to shoot through it.

Personally, that diameter is so big that I'd build a giant form 1 can for the .458 and not even worry about shooting any other calibers through it besides like .45-70

I would say dedicate the 458 can to 45 cal and build it with the correct bore. As far as too long or too wide. More area to cool and slow gas is probably a good thing. However, I am sure at some point the benefit stops. At where that is I have no idea. Silencerco makes a hybrid 46 and markets this way. maybe someone with a hybrid can chime in on the smaller calibers.

I shoot 5.56 in my 30 cal can and it does fine. I shoot 9mm in my 45 can and it works fine but a 5.56 through .46?? I don't know. seems like the bore would allow a lot of gas to pass right through.