• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Fuel in air filter box (atv)?

lftd&pwrstrok'n

Default rank 5000+ posts Lifetime Supporter
Sith Dark Lord
247   0
Reaction score
First off, I am no mechanic. I can manage to change a filter here and there, but that is about the extent of it.

Started having issue w/ Yamaha 2008 Big Bear 400 cranking. There was a clicking noise that would happen from time to time w the starter solenoid. Most times it would eventually crank. Well, a couple months ago, it stopped cranking and I finally got around to changing out the solenoid, but battery was dead. Charged battery and tried to crank it. Liquid came out of air filter box. Removed cover and found the box about half full of gas. Drained and letting everything dry off before attempting to crank again.

Any idea, why?? Did the carb leak that much fuel into the box? Was if from many, many, many attempts to crank w/ the bad solenoid and fuel just passing through the carb w/o burning off. I am at a loss...

Needle stuck in carb and back flowed into your air box.
Or
might be you left the key on (electric shutoff on carb) and back flowed into air box.
Might want to check your oil for fuel. This is pretty common with 10/15% alcohol gas, it messes up plastic parts in your carb

Or
might be you left the key on (electric shutoff on carb) and back flowed into air box.
Might want to check your oil for fuel. This is pretty common with 10/15% alcohol gas, it messes up plastic parts in your carb

Well, I forgot to check for gas in the oil until after I had cranked it. No fuel going in to the air box, but the overflow (?) coming off the top of the carb (it was snorkled and all this before I bought it) was shooting out a muddy liquid that smelled like gas, but other than smoking, it was idling fine. Goosed it a few times and the overflow was spouting out fluid. Remembered to check the oil. It poured out and smells like gas. What now? Is it even worth taking to someone to fix?