• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Georgia/Federal Law interpretation??

inkdaddy

Coast Guard Icon Supporter
Graduate, ODT class of 2010!!
165   0
Reaction score
According to the ATF an unlicensed individual who can legally own/purchase a firearm can sell and ship via the USPS a rifle or shotgun to another unlicensed individual who is of the same state residence and has no knowledge that the recipient individual is prohibited from owning/purchasing a firearm.

Now comes the rub. a Georgia resident who is "legal" wants to sell and ship to me a rifle. I am a Georgia resident and I hold a valid GWCL. I am traveling with my wife and we are currently visiting my daughter here in North Carolina for the next several months. Can this person still ship to me as a valid Georgia resident even though I am currently not in Georgia??

Ready.......Set........Go!!!!!

so you want the person to ship the rifle to an address is NC but sent to a GA resident, correct?

just trying to get a clear understanding.

not a lawyer and not up on all of my ATF but I'd be in the "negative ghost rider" to shipping the rifle out of state, even if it is to a GA resident. I guess you could ship it to a local FFL in NC and have them transfer it if you really wanted it ASAP.

nope
it crosses state lines...the address on the package would be NC,not GA. if you gotta have it,drive back to GA or just drive down and get it...

It's not about you specifically, it's about the address with regards to shipping. Crossing State lines changes things. So they can ship to your home in GA but they can't ship to an out of State address regardless of who's there to receive it.

so you want the person to ship the rifle to an address is NC but sent to a GA resident, correct?

just trying to get a clear understanding.