• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Get a compass

zesty

Hen of Fame Lifetime Supporter
not fully clean
67   0
Reaction score
I'm refreshing my hiking/get-home bags and was looking through some old GHB/BOB threads here. There's been a lot of good content lists posted, but I'm shocked how many of those lists are missing a compass. Some of those lists were pretty long and complete, but missing a compass. I felt like a PSA post is needed.

Get a decent compass.
Those little button compasses that come in survival kits usually suck. I don't even think they reliably point north. If it's cloudy and your phone doesn't have service, a compass can save you. It can at least save you a lot of time making sure you don't get turned around in between known landmarks/roads.

I am no compass expert and only have a loose grasp of orienteering, but here's some less-expensive suggestions:
Brunton TruArc 3 - Compact with some minimal extra features
Suunto A-10 - A little step up from the Brunton with a little more size to it

Learn to use it.
It sounds pretty self explanatory but a few youtube videos can give you some tips on how to get unlost with a compass. Basic knowledge of orienteering and declination would be useful to know too. Worth stating that you can't have any metal near it when using it (like a watch).

Any other suggestions would be welcomed. I'm helping my kids setup their first hiking bags too since they're to the age they might wander off now.

I keep one in each of my vehicles, daily carry bag, & emergency bags. I don't like the idea of having to rely on electronics. If there were ever a need to know which direction to go if you're forced to take the woods, a compass will help get me home.

I tend to use them most often for navigating new streets when I can't get my bearings like during the night or in a storm. Helps direct me to an area I'm familiar with or a major hwy.