• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

GSSF 9mm load suggestions

Slickelrod

Default rank <2500 posts Supporter
ODT Junkie!
181   0
Reaction score
Gentlemen, I have been shooting GSSF for about three years. Not very good but I'm getting better :cool:. I have been loading for about two years. The load I'm using is a 147g RN (plated) with a power factor of 124. Recently another competitive shooter told me that a 115g with a 120 power factor was all the rage. In talking to other competitive shooters a lot of them say they are shooting 124g bullets. My 147 loads are serving me well but I am always looking for something better. Your thoughts?
Thanks, Slick

I would not change anything before a match.

Most of the following is only my opinion based on a combination of personal experience and things that I have read and observed. Your experiences may differ.

I think most IPSC shooters will agree that the heavier bullets will seem like they have less recoil at a given power factor in an uncompensated barrel, the reverse being true for a compensated barrel. However, I do not remember GSSF being regulated by power factor. I remember it requiring the guns to be seperated into catagories that are based on the pistol model and the modifications that may or may not have been done to the gun.

A certain ammount of powder is needed to create enough gas to cycle the gun.

Since a lighter bullet will use more powder than a 147 grain bullet, in an unmodified gun, the lighter bullet can be loaded to a lower relative power level while allowing the gun to function. It will seem to have less recoil. However, you may still prefer the way your guns shoots with a heavier bullet.