• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Headspace

daniel.phelps.56

Default rank <5 posts
New to The Trader!
0   0
Reaction score
So I'm new to reloading and I'm learning as I go as I have no one to show me.
I'm starting to learn about headspace and how it affects my handloads. On the ones I've done so far the bolt of my rifle is hard to close/open when cycling rounds. As I understand this should mean I dont have enough headspace and need to screw my die in small turns to.achieve the right amount. Am I right?

could be several things.

case overall length too long( needs trimming)

case shoulder not set back enough.. Screw your FL seating die in a bit more

Too long COAL forcing the bullet into the rifling.

we need more information.

what is your equipment and how did you setup your sizing die

COAL of your loaded rounds(what caliber)

did you check the overall length of the brass after sizing

jglenn is right.

1.) Resize a case and measure the OAL. Is that in spec? (If it is, then it's probably not the case neck being too long.)
2.) Try chambering that case-- with no bullet. What happens? (We're ruling out the bullet hitting the lands.)

Really though, it's likely you aren't resizing the cases enough. Put the ram up all the way in your press. The resizing die should be touching the caseholder. In fact, you should feel the ram jamming the caseholder into the base of the die, as the handle "cams over". If you don't do this, you won't resize the base of the cases. Which won't matter at all-- right up until it does. : )

You should START OUT with the die set up like this, then back it out only when know you have a reason to do so. Some resistance when "camming over" is where you start... I'll bet this is the issue.

Besides that-- what caliber, and what press? If you are new to reloading, I hope you haven't jumped straight into doing rifle cartridges on a progressive press, with no one to help you... there's a lot to doing that right.