• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Help a newb pick a 223 load

jwhit

Default rank <1500 posts
ODT Junkie!
61   0
Reaction score
Guys, I'm a real newb, but excited to get into reloading. Got most tools, built a bench and the press is on the way.

I'd like to solicit some help starting out with my first load. Gonna be 223 used in an AR platform, bbl is 1:7, 11.5". Goals are ignition consistency and volume. Basically, I wanna make 223 to feed a MG. I shoot suppressed so the less gassy and cleaner, the better. I want to get more in depth, loading for accuracy, etc, but down the road.

So, I'm using a Lyman manual and thinking 55gr projectiles are cheaper and seem readily available. I also need help with powder selection and primer selection.

Based on this load data:
55 gr
image.jpeg

50 gr
image.jpeg

Looking at the 55 gr SPT, does it need a SPT? Will these work? http://www.surplusammo.com/223-caliber-224-bullets-armscor-55-grain-fmj-bt-1000-count-free-shipping/

It seems like Varget powder might be a good place to start. Seems pretty versatile and can also be used with heavier bullets. Also was looking at IMR 4895. Thoughts?

Regarding primers, I know I need small rifle primers. I see a lot available like CCI, Win. Are they all essentially the same? Suggestions?

Any advice would be great!

Buying locally will not keep you from paying hazmat fees they are added into the retail of the powders and primers you
purchase online, or locally.

bullets from extreme bullets, or cdnn sports....

just a suggestion

It is not best practice to use that SPT data for a 55 grain FMJ bullet, you should use data specifically for 55 grain FMJ. There is tons of load data for that bullet in 223.

I get powder and primer in bulk online, comes out much cheaper than buying locally if you can combine several things into one shipment. Lots of local places gouge on price (I recently saw a box of wolf primers at a LGS for $50)