• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

I thought deer were supposed to be afraid of people

chucklenut

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
362   0
Reaction score
so, I'm no expert but it was my understanding that deer, as wildlife, would generally not want to be near or interact with humans. well, wtf is going on in dekalb county?

I've seen them before in my backyard (inside the city of Atlanta, literally the hood by a lot of folks definitions) and a few times they have gotten as close to me in the backyard as maybe 15 to 20 yards.

well today I'm out at constitutions lakes to walk the dolls head trail and as I am I stumble across a rather large deer not but 10 feet from the trail. I am surprised, and it notices me I guess and runs about 5 to 10 feet away and then it stops. I kinda keep following the path slowly but watching the deer as its watching me. I kick the gravel with my foot to make noise and try and scare it off. it doesn't budge.

at this point I'm like WTF, because its strange and also I am a city guy so I'm not use to seeing deer up close but it was pretty ****in big and I know that on occasion they can turn territorial and maybe open up some whoop ass. so considering this I decide to yell at it and move my arms up. it ducks its head a bit and take a step to me like its sizing me up. so **** that, all I have is a .25 and I dont want to be on the news as that guy who got his ass kicked by a deer so I started slowly making my way along the trail as this prick of a deer mean mugs me.

so I do my walk, and I backtrack part of the trail and 20 minutes have passed and i come back to the spot where I first encountered the deer and wouldnt you know it that thing is still there. it basically repeats what it did earlier, going 10 to 15 feet from the trail then stopping and staring at me. I just kept on that time