• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Info of law and purpose of otf knives

rebow

Default rank <50 posts
Hunter
3   0
Reaction score
I just bought my first otf dual action knife it is a Delta Force recon..
I reside in Georgia now as far as I studied as long as the knife isnt longer than 12 inches it is legal to open and conceal carry the knife without a weapons permit the handle is 5. 1/2 inches and when open it is 9 inches
But I would love feed back on any laws regarding Georgia about otf knives also I'm 22 years of age ..

It’s legal, dude. Carry on.

Never hurts to have a weapons carry license. May cut down on issues from uneducated police officers. They don’t always know the law. I pick their brains when I get the opportunity and it’s scary what some of them think is the law.

^^^ This.

From what I remember there were some regulations about what you could carry with and without a license. There are probably a ton of cops that still have that in their heads.

No carry permit needed.

State preemption of local city and county laws regarding defensive knives.

But, without a GWL, there are more places off limits to you. Not because it's a knife, but because you don't have a weapons carry license.

On school property, for example. A permit holder could keep a gun or knife locked in the vehicle while they walk unarmed around campus. But without the carry permit, you had better not even drive your vehicle onto one parking lot or one driveway at any school or college anywhere in Georgia.

If you're a GWL holder & you break the school weapons law, it's just a misdemeanor. But it would be a felony with 10 years in prison as a possible sentence if you are not a carry permit holder.