• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Is it just me? Veterans Day.

ponyboy96

Default rank <1500 posts
ODT Junkie!
9   0
Reaction score
I just never know what to say when someone says to me thank you for your service. While I appreciate the sentiment, I just feel like others did so much more than I did. I usually just say thanks and move on. The discounts and such are nice when offered, but I never ask.

I don’t wear all the veteran stuff. Not that I’m not proud of what I did, I just don’t feel the need to advertise it. My wife had me get the flag on my license and get the veteran tag, which I didn’t really want to do. Idk. My unit was more the silent professional type. We didn’t advertise. I guess that carried over. Maybe it’s just me. Idk.

I am a veteran. I got deployed and all that. I wasn’t a POG.

1. Always be gracious to other folks who compliment you, or are nice to you.
2. I usually say something like "I appreciate it, but I enjoyed my time in the service. It was fun. And I got more out of it than I put in, so no thanks required"

Anyway, that's my opinion.
Actually, I don't feel like a veteran. I still feel like I'm capable of being a combatant :)

You’re a real man. You don’t need others to be confident in yourself. Keep doing what you’re doing, God knows America can use more like us. God bless.

1. Always be gracious to other folks who compliment you, or are nice to you.
2. I usually say something like "I appreciate it, but I enjoyed my time in the service. It was fun. And I got more out of it than I put in, so no thanks required"

Anyway, that's my opinion.
Actually, I don't feel like a veteran. I still feel like I'm capable of being a combatant :)

My response almost verbatim. When offered a discount (usually when they see my USAA card because I dont wear the I'm a veteran uniform) I tell them to give my discount as an extra to a veteran that got wounded. If they insist I say thank you.