• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

It’s none of my business but…..

Also, as an Attorney I have personally witnessed problems that come up when a person dies owning several different investments, insurance policies, and financial assets, and their family cannot locate them all after death.

Often the papers related to these important financial documents and insurance policies are mixed among junk mail and will often get thrown out or stuffed into cardboard boxes and put out in the garage like so much junk.

But the executor of the estate will need these documents to find out what the deceased person owned and what money is available to be distributed to the heirs.

It's a good idea to write up a letter that you keep in a private secure place but the location of that place is known to and access is granted to the person who will be the executor of your estate and in that letter you should identify all the different bank accounts investments and insurance policies that you have or on which you are named to have some benefit or legal interest. You should put down the contact information for these companies or your CPA or other financial advisor that can help your executor locate them.
Yep

A friend of mine gave me a large envelope , asked me to keep it in a safe place and open it after he died .