• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Looking for Black bear hunting tips in north Ga.

chrislibby88

Default rank <2500 posts
ODT Junkie!
67   0
Reaction score
I’ve been hearing that the black bear hunting is pretty good in the northern zone. Went on a deer hunt at Chestatee WMA last week. Got an awesome mountain buck and saw a ton of bear signs that really got me interested. Another hunter saw one on the ridge above the valley I was hunting but I never saw one. I want to return next year to mainly target bear, but I have no experience bear hunting. Hell I barely have any experience deer hunting, this is my first year seriously hunting since high school.

Does anyone have any tips/advice for hunting bear in the mountains? We only get one bear day in the central zone, and bears aren’t as numerous down here, so I would rather invest my time up north on a few 3-4 day hunts when the WMAs are open.

I know they eat a lot of the same food that deer do and share the same habitat, and they tend to move less when acorns or other food sources are plentiful.

Its on my bucket list also and I'm getting to the point where I need to make it happen or forget about it. Age wise.I can't find anybody to go with me and the wife don't want me in the mountains by myself. Plus I couldn't get one out by myself either.
My buddy just bought 15 acres that borders Swallow creek and we have been up there working on his place after he had the road system put in and put some cameras out. Hope we get some pics. It's hard hunting up there for us older people.

Its on my bucket list also and I'm getting to the point where I need to make it happen or forget about it. Age wise.I can't find anybody to go with me and the wife don't want me in the mountains by myself. Plus I couldn't get one out by myself either.