• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Moonclips for revolvers?

Deleted member 79987

Default rank 5000+ posts
Good enough for government work
79   0
Reaction score
Maybe this is a dumb question (I'm fairly new to revolvers), but can any S&W revolver use moon clips?

Or are only some models compatible with them -- others you have to use a speedloader? Looking at the small J-frames.

Yup, most are not going to come from the factory with the relief cut required. About the only time you will find that already done for you is with auto calibers (9mm, 40, 10mm, etc.)

Unless you are shooting in competition though, there's no real advantage to moon clips. Yeah, they load and unload fast, but they can be a PITA to add rounds to and remove empties from. In some cases you almost need a special tool to do it without bending the clip (which makes it a problem for the gun).

For plinking I would just get some speedloaders, and probably for competition as well unless you are already part of the top 1% and need that edge.

Yup, most are not going to come from the factory with the relief cut required. About the only time you will find that already done for you is with auto calibers (9mm, 40, 10mm, etc.)

Unless you are shooting in competition though, there's no real advantage to moon clips. Yeah, they load and unload fast, but they can be a PITA to add rounds to and remove empties from. In some cases you almost need a special tool to do it without bending the clip (which makes it a problem for the gun).

For plinking I would just get some speedloaders, and probably for competition as well unless you are already part of the top 1% and need that edge.
I hadn’t thought about adding new rounds and removing spent casings. Speedloaders are probably much easier on the fingers for that.

Absolutely, although you can find polymer moon clips that are much nicer to deal with. They are available for most guns if you hunt around.