• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Needing dome help. 300win or 300prc?

For what purpose? Besides availability/ammo selection the prc edges out the win mag by a slim margin on most accounts.
I'll be doing some elk hunting this coming year. I need something with a little more power at longer distances. From what I have read the prc is perfect for that but, I personally have never been behind one.

The 300 PRC is essentially a modernized/imrpoved 300 WM. No belt, better neck/shoulder design, chambers allowing long/heavy bullets without special reamers and good ammo/brass options.
I'm not experienced with the 300prc. Nor have I ever pulled the trigger on one. But I've read about people using basically any 30cal projectiles when reloading due to chamber. Do you know if that's true? I also have no experience with reloading so if this sounds stupid for lack of better terms that's why. I'm relying on the Internet for the knowledge.

The PRC doesn't have a huge performance boost or anything compared to the win mag. However, it is optimized for long heavy bullets like ngcsu said. If you want to sling 220 gr bullets, go prc. If you wanna stay in the 150-180 gr. Go with whatever gun you like best, chambering be damned. Win mag still has more factory options and a higher likelihood of being found at your local Walmart or Fudds-R-Us if you forget your ammo at home.