• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Pre-prime or prime prior to loading?

richs

Default rank <5000 posts
ODT Junkie!
40   0
Reaction score
I have a Lee Loadmaster I use for 9mm, .40S&W, and .223 rifle. My biggest gripe with it has bee with the priming system, so I ditched it and hand prime every shell. It give me the chance to handle every shell and inspect for defects. However, I recently had several rounds that didn't fire, although many fired after hitting the primer a second time; but I had a hang-fire that delayed a couple seconds before discharging. No harm done, but has me wondering about issues with pre-priming.
I store my primed shells in plastic bags (100 shell groups) in a sealed plastic bin with silica gel packs. My questions, should I put a gel pack in each bag? Should I ditch the plastic bins and use military style ammo cans? (I currently store completed rounds in steel ammo cans with silica packs, labeled when I made the rounds.)

I pre-prime all my loads. I store them is plastic coffee cans and have never had a problem. You may have had some raised primers. Just make sure you are fully seating them. You may also want to look into using prepped brass. That may help with the priming issues. I use prepped brass on all my loads. With them sized, swaged and the case mouth flared I don't have any problems with seating the primers fully.

JMO

It would seem that the same method used for storing primers in their original packaging would work for the storage of pre-primed. The problem may be more in the primer manufacturer as the thickness of the material varies and as long as you can hold certain processes to a set procedure you can eliminate the source of the error by the change of components.

Some primers are harder to set off than others. I've had several light strikes with cheap Tula primers. Never with Federal or CCI except some of my pistols with lighter hammer springs won't set off the CCI primers consistently.