• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Progressive reloaders

Ammo dump

Default rank <200 posts
Tracker
36   0
Reaction score
Question for you progressive reloaders.
I am getting ready to make the upgrade from single stage to a dillon, all the youtube videos I have watched are showing the process all the way through. Sized/deprime, prime, charge, seat, and crimp. My question is, when do you case gauge and trim if needed? My thinking was to size and deprime on single stage, prep cases and then run them thru the dillon or am I missing something?

I wonder that myself. I have the Dillon 550, the turret is manualy turned. I can scream through pistol calibers, but rifle has a lot of brass prep so your not going to run through a bunch of rounds until your brass is Prepped. I'm new to reloading, but a single stage is definitely needed to compliment your progressive press. I have a lot to learn, so I could be off base.

You still have to prep the brass before reloading. As mentioned, pistol brass, especially straight wall stuff, is a no brainer because it usually doesn't require prep, especially if you are using carbide dies (and you should).

I still keep a single stage set up, because it's a lot easier checking seating depth, COAL, and all those things, I perfect my load on the single stage, then convert all the measurements to the Dillon.

Honestly, if your are going to just shoot a few, a single stage will load rifle rounds as fast a a Dillon if you count set up time.

Yep, the truth is that progressives are great with pre-prepared brass ... and that can amount to a bunch of time!
But, if your objective is to "do-it-right", have the best / safest reloads possible; then it is time well spent!
While there are short-cuts to brass prep (like carbide dies), lube is usually still needed (especially for rifle brass)
unless you are Godzilla ... which means you should clean the brass after resizing / de-cap / primer hole clearing.