• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

RMR/DELTAPOINT should probably be on your self defense pistol

Lionheart

Default rank 5000+ posts Supporter
En vino veritas
210   0
Reaction score
Ok, I am not an expert. I also know for sure that some members here ARE experts.
What I would like is to hear their opinions on this subject...specifically their opinion on whether the average person would be better served by an optic on their carry and/or bedside self defense pistol.
As an old fart I find those front sites harder to find these days - especially in low light conditions. I am considering going to Deltapoints on my self defense pistols. Before I commit to this I would like to hear a discussion of the pros/cons of this decision.
I already know that a carry gun will be less concealable but I'm not worried about that...more concerned about the speed and percentage of first shot hits in a life/death situation.

Go.

The Sig RMR (Romeo1) take two hands to turn them on,(one to hold the gun, one to turn on the optic) , way too long for a self defense optic. So in a self defense situation, you would be full of holes trying to turn on the optic.

The Sig Romeo 5 comes on when it sense motion, buts its too big for a self defense carry pistol, unless you had a top rail on you carry gun, which is probably not the case.

Either iron sites for me on my carry gun, or laser on my bedside home defense guns.

So the Deltapoint RMR comes on automatically, when it senses motion, so its going to be ON most of the time you have it on you body. Probably in the car too. So you are probably going to be putting a battery in it every week. I got a Sig Romeo5 from a guy that complained about battery life on his carry weapon, that optic comes on when it senses motion.

For low lights situations I would add a flashlight to a railed carry gun, or a laser grip to a carry gun (lots of options there) and a good set of night sites.

My 2cents.