• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

shotshell reloadine

tom44

Default rank <100 posts
Hunter
21   0
Reaction score
I'm looking to get info on 12 gauge reloading will start with field loads but want to work up to duck and turkey loads. I have been loading rifle & pistol for over 20 years have no clue with shotgun shells please help.

Had a mec 9000G which was an excellent loader, and allows you to load fast, but a little pricey! Depending on how much shooting you do, you may want to look at a single stage loader. Suggest Alliant Green Dot or Red Dot powder, it is very versatile with a lot of loads and dosen't seem overly dirty. I would also suggest looking at 1oz. loads, it makes your shot go farther and lightens recoil a little.
Winchester AA and Remington STS both are excellent hulls for reloading and I like Winchester and Claybuster wads. Primers, I just use whatever brand matches the hull i'm using. I would recommend MEC products as far as loaders, either single stage or progressive.
Bass pro shop may be a good place to go to look for the stuff you will need, they have about everything in stock, and if you are like me, I like to see something before I order it.
Good luck to you, and if you have any specific questions, I,m sure the fine folks on here will be glad to help.

I use a Mec (600?) Jr. press. It's pretty easy, takes me about 10 minutes to load a box. I probably only burn through about 400-500 target shells a year, have never felt the need for anything better. I also use it to make buckshot loads with my own cast buckshot, but that's a bit slower because I have to load the shot by hand instead of dropping it. They are easy presses to adjust, use, and just plain old work well. If I was shooting thousands of rounds per year, I might consider a progressive.