• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Trying Container Gardening This Year

napp

Default rank <3000 posts Supporter
ODT Junkie!
45   0
Reaction score
I have decided that I am too old and too tired to dig in the Georgia clay anymore. I am trying to grow some of my favorite things in containers this year. I guess it would be stretching things to call it a garden; but here is what I have planted in containers. One Patio tomato, one Better Bush tomato, one Amelia tomato, one Jalapeno pepper, one Green Bell pepper, and one Boston Pickling Cucumber. I have planted all of these in self watering containers made from Lowe's 5 gallon buckets.
Additionally I have planted a Tabasco Pepper, a Thai Hot Chili, some Rosemary, some Parsley, and some Basil. I will have to keep these watered the old fashioned way. I've never tried container gardening before; so I am sure it will be learning experience .

Container tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers.jpg
container peppers and herbs 2018.jpg

I also grow my tomatoes in 5 gal buckets and have not had a problem with the wilt since I started. Every year I change out the soil mix and put it in my other raised beds. Good luck and hope you have a bountiful harvest.

I also grow my tomatoes in 5 gal buckets and have not had a problem with the wilt since I started. Every year I change out the soil mix and put it in my other raised beds. Good luck and hope you have a bountiful harvest.
What sort of fertilizer routine do you use? I started with Miracle Grow potting mix as my planting medium. Planted one week ago; and haven't added anything yet.

What do you guys use for soil? I'm looking at Square Foot gardening on my southern-exposure deck, but need to figure out what will go in the planters.

What do you guys use for soil? I'm looking at Square Foot gardening on my southern-exposure deck, but need to figure out what will go in the planters.