• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Use an original Nintendo controller with your NES Classic Mini or wii

BangBang

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
57   0
Reaction score
This may be old news to y'all, but I thought this was pretty cool. If you're looking for an extra controller, this might save you some cash.

I've been running an NES emulator on my wii for several years now. You just turn the wiimote sideways and it makes a fairly decent NES controller, but it's still not the real thing.

When VanillaGuerrilla VanillaGuerrilla started posting about the NES Classic Mini awhile back, I wasn't really interested in the console itself because I already have all those games on my wii, but I WAS interested in the controller since it uses the same connector as the wii nunchuck. I wanted to get an NES Classic controller to use with my wii emulator.

Well, it looks like the geniuses at Nintendo have decided to stop production of the Classic Mini, so prices for the console and extra controllers have gotten STUPID.

There are plenty of third party controllers on eBay for the Classic Mini that can be had pretty cheap, but they just looked a little "off" to me. I wanted a REAL controller made by Nintendo.

While browsing eBay I came across an adapter made by a company called Hyperkin. You plug an original NES controller into it converts it to the NES Classic Mini style connector!

The adapter was $9.99 shipped and I found an original NES controller, used but in good shape for $9.99 shipped.

So for a total of $20 I've got a REAL Nintendo controller that will work with wii emulation or the NES Classic Mini.

Original NES controller with 7-pin connector
IMG_0571.JPG

Hyperkin adapter that the controller plugs into
IMG_0572.JPG

The other end of the adapter plugs into a wiimote or NES Classic Mini
IMG_0574.JPG

All hooked up and ready to rock. I taped up the excess cord on the NES controller just to tidy things up.