• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Vacation items for preppers

Iron Outlaw

Default rank <200 posts
Tracker
1   0
Reaction score
I'm completely new to the prepping scene. I've been looking at bags to keep in my truck for a get home bag. I'm still learning the terms and tools needed. I'm not (too) paranoid, but want to be able to respond and keep my family safe during an emergency.
I have a fear of something happening when we are on vacation/ out of town. We go to Daytona every year for the 4th of July and with the dense crowd and cars lined up on the beach, I always tell my wife it's a great place to be attacked.

What should I bring with me to get me home if something did happen? I want to put together a bag with basics but honestly I'm not sure where to start.
I bring my carry weapon and one extra mag but should I bring a rifle? Do most of you guys?

Try a little common sense. Don't plan on zombie hordes. You don't need to pack enough gasoline to go all the way there and get back. For a trip like that, enough food supplies to last there and back. Basic hand tools in case of mechanical breakdown. All the self defense stuff you usually carry plus an extra box of ammo. If you keep a long gun in your vehicle, an extra box of ammo wouldn't hurt.

Remember whatever you leave in your vehicle can be absconded if y'all go to dizzyworld. You might say, "but I lock everything up in a safe". That don't mean **** when they tow your **** away.

There is 'be prepared' and then there is straight up dumb a** overkill.

If I'm driving I like to take whatever I need to walk home. My carry pistol and an ar pistol with ammo. I always keep an emergency vehicle bag containing things that will help me keep my car running. Extra gas. I take my bug out bag. A couple of my homemade mre's. A good reserve of emergency cash. That kind of thing.