• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

What Do I have Here? Contender barrel Question.

Guys I am not sure if this is the correct place to put this. I have this 16" bull stainless contender barrel, in 32-20, made in the TC custom shop, and the last 4-5" of the barrel screws off, leaving a pencil size barrel that is all part of the rest of the barrel. What in the world could be the reason for this outer piece to come off for? Walt.

Any markings near the chamber, and does it look to be reamed out? I had an Uncle that was into those, he had barrels cut and chambers reamed for specific loadings.

I thought of that. The ones that I’m familiar with have a perforated barrel under the sleeve, but that don’t mean they all do. I’m not a suppressor expert by any means.

.32-20 would be easy to suppress.
Yup....it's right on the edge of being subsonic with fullhouse loads already.

I'm googling like crazy and can't find anything. OP looks like you have a true "custom" on your hands. What it's used for, I'm completely unsure, though! :laugh:

I'll go with " a customer asked the T/C factory custom shop to build this rifle barrel as pictured...

... with the intention that the customer will then finish making it suppressor-ready himself, or take it to a different machine shop for that work ...

which would involve drilling at least a couple of small holes [Edited] (1) to vent pressure into the back section of the suppressor-- the section which would not contain any baffles of course but would be simply an expansion chamber for overpressure. The baffles would be in front of this gun's muzzle at the very end of the turned- down barrel.

In other words, 1/2 to 2/3 of the suppressor's length would overlap this gun's barrel and the last half or the last 1/3 would be in front of the barrel as we see it in this photo.