• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Why SBR a 5.56 AR?

My argument is that .223 isn't hearing safe/pleasant even with a can unless you crank it way down. I do see the .300 blackout argument b/c I have owned a chopped, suppressed MPX in 9mm and that **** was the most fun I have had with guns. .300 ppr just too much.
11.5 properly gassed is plenty hearing safe and a pleasure to shoot in my opinion.

Hey Folks,

Been kicking around submitting a form 1 on one of my lowers but struggling to come up with reasons why tbh (other than cool factor of course) Most people i have seen that SBR a lower end up slapping a can on it so back to original length if not longer. I have limited experience with SBRd suppressed lowers but found them to be gassy af, still not hearing safe, and all around kinda unpleasant to shoot. SBRs w/o a can are like a bomb going off a foot from your face and only tolerable for the shooter, and a ****ing nightmare for those around you. I'll probably still break down and stamp one because they do look cool as **** but struggling to justify doing it vs throwing money at something else fun. Love to hear thoughts and opinions.

Thanks!
I agree it isn't hearing safe...but it is close. quieter than 115gr 9mm out of an unsuppressed pistol for sure. also the concussion and flash are greatly diminished. I tested an 11.5" 556 sbr with can indoors...was no problem. i was wearing hearing protection...but it was night and day compared to the dude doing mag dumps with a 16" ar 2 stalls down.

But really it just depends on what you want to use it for… It sounds like you really don’t want to have an SBR’d AR, so don’t.

If you want a short AR that isn’t neutered with a brace, and you don’t mind paying for the tax stamp or dealing with NFA ****, do it.