• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Winchester 94 Big Bore - Couple Questions

Dave1210

Default rank <1000 posts Lifetime Supporter
Frontiersman
209   0
Reaction score
I recently traded for this Winchester Big Bore 94 .375 rifle and was wondering if some of you with experience with 94s might be able to lead me to where I can date the rifle? It has a fairly low four digit serial number 250X. I have shot it twice and it shoots well (rounds are NOT cheap).

Secondly, I have zero experience with cerakoting. Does the rifle appear to be a cerakote job or something else? Whatever it is appears professionally done but I can't tell.

What say you? Thanks!

20210527_194501.jpg
20210527_194546.jpg
20210527_194444.jpg
20210527_194433.jpg

That’s a good looking rifle! It appears to me to be a matte nickel finish. I’ve seen a similar finish on a Mossberg Mariner pump shotgun, and that’s what they described it as. If so, it’s electroplated and would be either factory or done by a gunsmith.

Eric

The Winchester Big Bore 94 .375 Winchester debuted in January 1978, along with the same rifle in .307 and .356 Winchester.

The 94 was changed to Angle Eject in 1982. Yours doesn’t appear to be an AE model, so it was made between 1978-1982.

In 1992, Winchester added the unnecessary cross bolt safety, which yours doesn’t have.

Production ceased altogether in 1997 on the .375, and in 1998 on the .307 and .356 versions.

I was in the market for a .375 recently and considered the one that you bought. The gentleman that owned it thought it was Cerakote, but didn’t seem 100% sure. I’m in Dallas as well, and would be happy to look at it for you.

Winchester made your gun from 1978 to 1986. Good luck finding ammunition, but if you reload you can make low pressure loads from necked up .30-30 cases. I haven’t found anything about a matte nickel finish yet, so it may be after market.

Eric