• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Woodworking pros listen please

greg vess

Default rank 5000+ posts Supporter
Elite Idiot
120   1
Reaction score
I sanded down some wood and it's Birch and I've heard that Birch can be a pain in the butt to stain. Is it correct that I should use a gel stain on that or what is the best Avenue of approach?

crippen crippen

I am no pro, but have done many birch stocks (10/22's) with Linseed oil, then rub in some Chestnut Ridge stain to give it that red hue. Think pre 64 Winchesters or a kissing cousin to the M1 Garand look.

Try not to raise the grain on the wood when you strip it.

Gent on other forum was a genius on stains, was a bigwig in the lab for one of the biggest stain/paint companies.

NoRemf is the real deal-

Old Masters Wiping Stain if you can find it. Gives you more control of how light or dark you would prefer it to look.

Screenshot_20230123_195449_Chrome.jpg

If the project isn't one that will ever have to tolerate alcohol spills, I love Zinser Bullseye Shellac for birch. Shellac sits on the surface of the wood, doesn't penetrate. Can be removed with alcohol. Shellac can also be tinted with dies for different colors.

If the project isn't one that will ever have to tolerate alcohol spills, I love Zinser Bullseye Shellac for birch. Shellac sits on the surface of the wood, doesn't penetrate. Can be removed with alcohol. Shellac can also be tinted with dies for different colors.