• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

.35 Remington

squirrel

Default rank <300 posts
Tracker
49   0
Reaction score
Just picked up one of these old dandys in a Marlin 336. I love hunting with these classic lever guns. I figure since I load my 30-30 with 125gr hp scooching along pretty fast, the .35 might be handy for punching larger,deeper holes in various (tougher) critters. Anyone have any pet loads in this caliber? Ive considered ordering some of the Hornady 200gr FTX bullets(a.k.a. leverevolution bullets, gummy bear tips), or maybe a Hawk bullet in 220-250 grn.(I have no experience with these) But I thought for hog or black bear maybe a tougher bullet would be in order? Im also very interested in Montana Bullets Cast RCBS gas-chacked Flat nose. Looks like a bone smasher to me, though in honesty I've not done much hunting with cast lead bullets ( sure do like the price though). Any input on your experiences would be appreciated.

I've hunted with my 336 in .35 Remington since I was a teenager (back in the Dark Ages)...but I have never loaded for it. Mine's plenty accurate with Remington Core-Lokt 200 grain rounds, so I never developed a load for it. I have contemplated trying the LeveRevolution rounds...but I have all but retired the old Marlin these days.

Sorry...not much help, I know. But you're right...it will punch holes in tough animals.

Id noticed the average price of a box of rem corlocts around $30, and Ive got roughly 300 pieces of brass for it, so I figured hey might as well loadem'up.

you can get 100 Hornady FTX 200gr bullets for about $50. I just sold a bunch on here a week or so ago....not that that helps....lol

R-P cases (1x fired, FL resized)
200 grn RNCL
Fed GM210
LVR powder, 42, 43, 44, 45c.
seated to cannelure. (2.52)
Firm crimp from LFCD