A2 front sight question

BE46ST

Default rank <400 posts
Survivalist
48   1
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm very novice as this is my first rifle and I'm new to the game so don't flame me too hard for asking dumb questions.

I currently have a Bushmaster AR 15 (technical name is carbon 15) and it has a not so desirable to my liking front sight, I want the fixed A2 front sight. I've heard their a ***** and a half to put on becuase you have to mess with gas block and mine doesnt even look removeable. Any insight on this or how to do it. ANy help would be great.

I'm adding pics for reference.

This is what I have;
http://www.flickr.com/photos/az_gru/5466853522/

This is what I want;
http://www.brownells.com/userdocs/skus/p_100002413_1.jpg

It has a..... not so there front sight. It's not a big deal to change them out. You can even get a clamp on/set screw replacement for what you have. Just pop out the pins, remove and replace with the new one.

Head up to Bullseye Marksman and let the guys know what you want to do and they'll walk you through it or do it for you.

I have a DPMS 16" upper with the fixed sight like you're looking for. I'd trade you straight across upper for upper. I like the gas block style like yours, and these fixed sights are a pain to remove without damaging the barrel

It has a..... not so there front sight. It's not a big deal to change them out. You can even get a clamp on/set screw replacement for what you have. Just pop out the pins, remove and replace with the new one.

Head up to Bullseye Marksman and let the guys know what you want to do and they'll walk you through it or do it for you.

Thanks! Where is that if I may ask?

I have a DPMS 16" upper with the fixed sight like you're looking for. I'd trade you straight across upper for upper. I like the gas block style like yours, and these fixed sights are a pain to remove without damaging the barrel

Are all AR's not gas block? What is the difference with yours? I may take you up on that