• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

Casting: Any lead pouring peeps here?

41mag

Wolf Icon Supporter
Shake, rattle & roll !
121   0
Reaction score
My father died some 5 years ago....he left me a great deal of equipment and all kinds of goodies, (Thanks Dad!!) . The man was a pack rat....took me a while to start shuffling through stuff. I've been casting and reloading for 30+ years now! and I've got no problems with what I'm doing. But I've started looking through the hoards of stuff I got from him and knew I had some real good molds. I just didn't realize the extent of them until recently, there is somewhere north of 75+ molds in about 6 different cases/boxes. Mostly Lyman, some Hensley and Gibbs ! Handles galore ! 1, 2,4, and 6 cavity . Pistol and rifle with gas check relief on the higher cals.
I have about a 2 year supply of projectiles cast, sized and lubed. He taught me to do things in quantity. When we cast, we cast about once a year for two or three weeks straight. Thousands of rounds. Plus I have the stuff he had cast up.
There are moulds here I don't know if I ever will use, some no longer made too. I am wondering what kind of market there may be for some....if any. Not even sure I want to let go of any. I just don't know.

Any thoughts?

There is a market, it's just a matter of how much you value what you have. Sometimes things are worth more to the seller than they are to the buyers.
That may be the case considering it was something you and your father shared. Check out the link below. They're all about casting. Might give you a better idea.
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/forum.php

Much obliged. I do believe I also inherited some of my father's "hoarding" DNA ...if there is such. I just always think: what if I need that someday? :)

there is somewhere north of 75+ molds in about 6 different cases/boxes.