Custom leather holsters

Status
Not open for further replies.

gafirefighter

Default rank <750 posts
Frontiersman
Reaction score
After a few years of attempting to improve on my design and technique to a point that I am happy with, I have recently reached a point that I was finally excited to offer my holsters to people other than testers and friends. Being a career firefighter, I started out making leather helmet shields for other firefighters helmets. I have always carried a handgun on my person and peasant many years working part time in retail gun sales. During that time, I have literally owned hundreds of firearms and holsters. This has given me an opportunity to see what works and what does not. What is comfortable, and what is not. I love custom leather holsters. I love the quality and the feel of well made leather goods. I do not like waiting 3 or 4 months to receive said holster though. I also do not like feeling that the product was not worth the purchase price. All of these are reasons that I am now mainly making holsters.

My holsters are made from 6-7 oz veg tanned high quality leather. At this time, everything is done by hand, including the saddle stitching. For inside the waistband, I give the option for pull-the-dot snaps or regular snaps. I can offer my main designs for pretty much and belt size. At this time I only offer natural, dark brown with an aged look, and black. My holsters and designed and built for comfort and function. I take a lot of pride in the overall finish and appearance, but it is not my main concern.