Full Length die sizing neck to big??

Mannyman

Default rank <100 posts
Hunter
1   0
Reaction score
Hey Folks, I'm fairly new to reloading. I've loaded several hundred rounds of .40 with no problems and finally got a Lee .223 Deluxe die set and tried it out. I full length sized my brass and prepared it. I seated several Nosler 50g Ballistic Tips and then pushed a round against my loading bench to check the neck tension....the bullet slipped in. In the directions, they suggest using a cotton swab to lightly lube the inside of the neck, I thought maybe I had used too much and used a clean swab to try to wipe some excess lube out, if there was any. I seated a few more rounds and checked neck tension again. I had two more bullets slip. Is my die sizing the neck too big? Anyone else ever had this problem? Thanks

Once it bottoms out, put a little more pressure on the handle to squeeze the Collette in on the neck. not enough to break anything. It takes a little more push to squeeze the neck back in than it takes to push the spent primer out or to re size the case. I don't use any lube on any seating operation. fs

If you push hard enough on any freshly loaded round you can set it back. Under normal conditions most rounds won't have a lot of pressure applied to the bullets after seating. Unless the rounds are going to see rough treatment, crimping isn't necessary for most.

Are you using the FL or neck only die? The setup and use of these two are different.

The FL die should be used for any autoloader. With the shellholder in place bring the ram to the top of the stroke. Screw the die body in until it makes contact with the shellholder then an additional 1/4 to 1/2 turn and lock.

With a lubed case inthe shellholder bring the ram to the top of the stroke, make sure you reach the top of the stroke.