• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Lets talk AR gas systems and barrel lengths

Lazarus

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
39   0
Reaction score
This isn't a about pricing or availability but I need to be educated on different gas systems, length of gas systems, and barrels. I've always like the look of the regular 16" barrel carbine length (is that the right term) ARs but researching lately I see that BCM has a Recce where the barrel is 14.5" with a 1.6" flash hider pinned. That model has a mid-length gas system. In comparing the two I've found that with a 14.5" you gain a little in maneuverability and less weight but you sacrifice a little on velocity. How does the carbine and the mid-length gas systems differ though? I'm a newbie so I don't even know what the purpose of the gas system is.

Middy has less recoil generally and also usually a little more accurate. Here is my guide to ARs a gas systems.

14.5" and Less - Carbine
16" - 18" - Mid
18"+ - Rifle

However I heard 14.5 Middys are pretty nice too. I've personally never handled one.

Gas system length and barrel length are not one in the same, you can have a rifle length gas (12 inches) on a carbine (16 inch) barrel just as you can have a carbine length gas (7 inches) on a rifle length (20 inches) barrel. What it boils down to is timing, the longer the gas system, the longer it will be before your bolt unlocks and moves to the rear. Spring and buffer weight come into play as well. Gas system lengths are as follows.

7" Carbine length
9" Mid length
12" Rifle length

If your gas block can fit on the barrel, you can have that length gas.