Need some advice, new 1911 owner getting bit

AirOpsMgr

Default rank 5000+ posts
The Hen that laid the Golden Legos
Banned Permanently
66   0
Reaction score
Hey all, looking for some advice as I'm new to 1911's

I traded for a new RIA GI on here a few weeks back to get me started in the 1911 arena. I finally had time to take it to the range today and after running about 100 rounds through it, the only complaint I have is getting bit by the hammer.

I tried a few different grip techniques, but most resulted with getting bit slightly.

From doing some research, I see that I can add a Wilson Combat "Drop-in high-ride"
beaver tail grip safety (item # 2-WC429BG), which will also require the Wilson hammer (item # 2-WC455B); all for around $60.00 (can also add the Wilson match trigger for another $32 while I'm at it).

So, the question is, are these parts really "drop in", or will I still need some smithing to get them to fit properly?

Also, although I shoot ok with the stock GI sights, how much trouble is it to replace them with 3-dot GI sights? Should I invest in the sight tool, or just buy the sights and take it to a smith? (I'm not looking to have it milled for Novaks if I can just replace with better GIs)

Thanks for your help!!
Best regards,

Unfortunately (or fortunately - depending on your perspective, I suppose) there's not much of anything that is "drop-in" on a 1911. Will the Wilson combat parts fit as direct replacements? Probably....will they match up smooth and tight without any stoning? Maybe...but less likely. Be prepared to "fit" the parts...or if you're not comfortable with that, have someone do it who is.

As to the sights, unless you plan on working on a lot of pistols, I wouldn't buy a sight pusher....cheaper to have someone do it.