• ODT Gun Show this Saturday! - Click here for info and tickets!

New sheath for DAN Knives MAKO

blackplague14

Default rank <1000 posts
Frontiersman
48   0
Reaction score
I've been using one of Fatzombie's Mako knives for a couple of months as my daily work knife. I had made a multi cam sheath that rode high and tight, which worked great for everyday carry but I kept catching my t-shirt while returning the knife to it's sheath. I use the blade approximately 20 times a day, most of the time while holding something with my other hand, so one handed re-sheathing is a must. I was digging around my gun stuff and found a Blade Tech offset drop from an old holster, so I cooked up another sheath last night. Liner is .060 blood red Kydex. Outer is .060 black Kydex. I have the Chicago screws sandwiched between the two layers so that they can not contact and scratch the blade. Belt attachment is a large Tek-Lok. The sheath is probably a little too high profile for daily carry outside of work, but it worked perfectly for me today.

The only black screws that I have are too long, so the stainless will have to do for now.

The knife is pictured on top of some the the insulation I was was cutting today. Danny's knife has really held up well to the rigors of daily construction life. I couldn't be happier with it.

Looks good. I like the two tone look of the sheath. Do you have any more pics of the knife?

Post #7 in this link is what it looked like before I beat it all to hell. http://www.theoutdoorstrader.com/threads/388675-Fixed-Blade-EDC The blade really holds an edge well, but we use metal patterns to cut around on the 1" thick insulation. So 1" from the tip of the blade is a mess of scratches from the edge of the metal pattern. I'll try to get a good pic posted tomorrow.