• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Probably a dumb question...

grandchessboard

Default rank <1250 posts
ODT Junkie!
2   0
Reaction score
I have what will probably be a dumb question. I am new to doing any sort of prepping for a SHTF situation so when I was at wallyworld the other day I was thinking about all that food and which products save the longest without any modification by me, such as vacuum sealing or things of that nature. So, just to make sure that people understand exactly what I am asking, what are some examples of products that I could buy that will save for a really long time completely as is?

Also, years back I was hearing talk about some companies putting expiration dates on their products that are not really accurate. Meaning the product could actually last longer than the date mentioned but instead they put an earlier day because they know many consumers will just throw it away and buy new ones. Never tested this theory by the way. lol Any truth to this?

Take it easy on me, I have a wife and two kids and am just know thinking that it would be wise to be getting prepared.

Dried beans, pasta, mac & cheese, ramen noodles are good shelf stable foods. Canned food of any sort is a good way to start. Try to buy the things that you and your family like to eat and buy a little extra for the pantry. It's better than nothing and a good way to get in the "habit" of prepping.

Expiration dates are kind of suggestions. Foods don't go bad the instant they reach their expiration date. That's my very sleepy 2 cents.

Last edited:
Canned foods are great as long as you are not planning to carry them any further than the trunk to the house. If you have to pack up and leave, canned food burns up a lot of space and weight for a limited return in food.

Just to repeat, canned food is a good choice for the house.