• ODT Gun Show & Swap Meet - May 4, 2024! - Click here for info

Wood turning! Who does it?

STIHL301

Default rank <400 posts
Survivalist
5   0
Reaction score
I have been wanting to get into wood turning for sometime now. I was wondering if anyone on ODT has a wood lathe and does any work? I would like to know what lathe you do use or would recommend to use. My grandfather left me a old metal lathe from early 1900`s so i have some kind of experience working on a lathe and could possibly use it to start with but i dont have the turning tools or a rest. Also I do alot of wood work too.

Thanks!

would love to see your antique lathe, can you send a photo?

I would recommend a purpose built wood lathe and good ones to start with would be 1950's Rockwell, Powermatic, Walker Turner, etc., i.e. a heavy lathe. Many of these come with a variable speed drive (mechanical). The heavier the better, but be sure that it is all there, especially the tail-stock.

Any of these older lathes can be retrofitted with an adjustable frequency drive. Don't spend a lot of money on accessories until you are hooked, then buy your cutting/scraping tools one at a time, avoiding tool-packages where they load you up on tools you will never use.

Warning: it is addicting and always remember: "machines don't care"

I will have to go take a picture of it sometime this week maybe today. Its still at my grandfathers house but its 10 mins away! it sure is cool and brings alot of memories back when I see it.

I would like to find a older wood lathe because they do look heavy duty. Just not sure where to find them I look on craigslist from time to time. As for the tools i was thinking of just buying the basic tools needed to start with like you had mentioned. Do you have a picture of your lathe? i would like to see your setup. moosensquirrel moosensquirrel