Status
Not open for further replies.

78Bronco

Default rank <4500 posts Lifetime Supporter
ODT Junkie!
116   0
Reaction score
Hey gang,

I have bought, sold, and traded lots of stuff over the years on ODT and have met many good people along the way. I have never tried to post anything like this before but have a friend that is in need and saw where some others have done sim things so I thought I would give it a try.

So, here is the back story that got us to this point. I struggled before posting this to decide if I should give the long or short version of this and decided to go with the short. If you are concerned with the validity of this before participating there are a few other ODT members who can corroborate my story, so let me know and I can PM you their info and you can contact them or I can have them contact you. The fundraiser is to help a 26 year old friend and former coworker of mine. In April of last year he quit working with us and moved to a new city to take a new job and got married shortly after. In Dec he started losing weight and in Jan was hospitalized. Initially the doctors couldn't figure out what was wrong with him and why he was losing so much weight. After many tests they began to believe he had Crohn's disease. Feb was touch and go and on Feb 22 he had surgery where they discovered he actually had ulcerative colitis and they had to remove his colon. He has started doing better and was able to come home earlier this month. The kicker here is that he hasn't been with his new employer long enough for his insurance to cover the hospital stay/surgery. That brings us to today... some of the guys who worked directly with him decided that they would put together a raffle to raise money to help him with the bills that have accumulated over the last few months. When the owner of our company found out about the raffle he said that he would match the money that was raised, so we have a great opportunity here to really help this guy out.